From Morning Light To The Next Liquid Night

stars5a

As the morning light bestows its first sweet caress,
It stirs my waking dream to life,
Loosening the reluctant grasp of
Yesterday’s liquid night;
The stillness of the dark water,
In the wee hours before dawn,
Slowly yields to the tides within me.

They ripple gently in steady, rhythmic response,
As my heart reclaims its rightful place,
Among the hidden pillars of my spiritual center;
Tender thoughts of affection newly-born,
Cascade like a waterfall of epic delight,
Propagating along networks of neural pathways,
Bursting now with skittish ions,
Jumping to each new tendril that reaches out,
As they await the sparks
Of their measured and anticipated embrace,
With invisible and mysterious arms
Of infinite possibility.

How delicately we step into the light of each new day;
How faithfully we sow the seeds of our delight;
How often we strive to open our hearts and minds to its potential,
Only to discover the ever-changing distance,
From morning light to the next liquid night.

January 2015

13 comments

    • jjhiii24

      Love,

      It is always satisfying to express our feelings with an appropriate and meaningful turn of a phrase or poetic line. I must admit to feeling reasonably certain that by comparing the cascading water plummeting down in a waterfall, in the real world, to the feeling I had while writing this in my inner world, justified describing the feeling as one of epic delight. You often inspire similar delight in your writing, and I appreciate your thoughtful comment very much.

      Warmly….John H.

  1. johncoyote

    Beautiful photos and good thoughts and wisdom. Lucky people arise to see the birth of the new day and can find rest at the close of the day. The sky and earth showed us great beauty. Thank you for sharing the amazing poetry.

    • jjhiii24

      John,

      Every once in a while, we poets and writers find a way to express our true feelings in a form or manner which resonates with other like-minded explorers. It is a very satisfying endeavor when it results in a shared appreciation like the one that is taking place today. Your generous reblogging and attention to my writing has brought a fair number of the members of the WordPress family to visit here today, and I appreciate your thoughtful invitation to your readers very much.

      There are times when we can lose sight of the value of our own work, especially when we are working hard to create quality content without much response. Your own writing has clearly garnered a degree of attention commensurate with the quality of the rich content contained throughout its many entries, and I am grateful to be among your readers also.

      Warm regards….John H.

  2. Maniparna Sengupta Majumder

    Hi John,

    A new day is about to born in this part of the world and your poetry just made me feel so peaceful and happy. As the propitious rays of the sun make their first appearance, everything looks so serene and beautiful. It’s time to feel that oneness with Mother Nature. 🙂

    Following your wonderful blog 🙂

    • jjhiii24

      Maniparna,

      May I say, with great humility, how it pleases me so, that you found a portion of happiness and peace in the poem I wrote. The first few moments of the dawn of a new day often contain such serenity and beauty, and whenever possible, I like to experience the beauty of the sunrise (when it is not obscured by clouds), as each new day begins.

      As a young boy, I would travel with my family in the summertime to spend our vacation days along the eastern shore of the United States, and would always rise before the sun, and rush down to the beach in order to be present for the first light of day, and watch as the sun rose above the ocean. I retained this enthusiasm for watching the sunrise throughout my entire life, and eventually found these words by Ralph Waldo Emerson which capture so well the experience I love so much:

      “I see the spectacle of morning…from daybreak to sunrise, with emotions which an angel might share. The long slender bars of cloud float like fishes in the sea of crimson light. From the Earth as a shore, I look out into that silent sea. I seem to partake its rapid transformations; the active enchantment reaches my dust, and I dilate and conspire with the morning wind.” — from his essay, “Nature,” 1849

      In an earlier part of this same essay, Emerson also recognizes that there is “no disgrace, no calamity, which nature cannot repair.” With his head “bathed in the blithe air,” Emerson remarks that he can “see all,” and that “the currents of the Universal Being circulate through me; I am part or parcel of God.” Such are the gifts of the sun and of Mother Nature at such times.

      With much appreciation…..John H.

    • jjhiii24

      You are very kind to characterize my poem in this way. It erupted from within me as most of my writing does, but once in a while something beautiful arrives on the page and, at times, I almost feel as though these poems are only passing through me, rather than actually being the writer who creates them. I believe it might have been Wallace Stephens who explained that we poets never truly finish a poem, but we simply, at some point, abandon it.

      It is richly rewarding to receive appreciation of my poetry, and I am grateful for your response….John H.

    • jjhiii24

      Thank you so much for such an enthusiastic response! It was a genuine labor of love that produced it, and it seems to have had a good effect on the readers so far.

      Writing poetry has always been a very personal process for me, and it isn’t always easy to reveal such personal feelings in a way that speaks to others who read what I write, but it seems I succeeded this time, and I appreciate your kind words very much….John H.

    • jjhiii24

      I’m guessing that when you see the sun in Alaska presently it is a most welcome sight!

      I admire your tenacity to endure the Alaskan climate, and in reviewing the photos, it seems likely that your ability to endure the extremes comes in part from your ability to revel at the sight of a beautiful Alaskan landscape.

      I am delighted to know that you felt uplifted by my poem, and I appreciate your genuinely nice comment….John H.

Leave a Reply

