July…She Will Fly…

simon and garfunkel

“July, she will fly,
And give no warning to her flight.”

–from the Simon and Garfunkel song, “April, Come She Will,” 1966, “Sounds of Silence”

July did fly past for me in important ways.  It seems I wasn’t able to post anything last month, and there was no warning for me that it would be so challenging to arrive at the writing desk with enough energy and a mind clear enough to write with clarity.  This was the first month in a very long time that I wasn’t able to attend to writing here, and it happened mostly because life got in the way.  There are still some difficulties to resolve in this regard, but I am hopeful that with some additional time and effort, I will be able to resume this month.

One of the main issues at the heart of the problem seems to be that my subject generally requires that I prepare a fair amount of material in advance of the writing, and then distill it down to something resembling a comprehensible whole that fits into something less than maybe a few thousand words.  Most of my main entries here hover around that mark, and it’s often the case that I have to break the writing down into sections which I can post at different intervals.  All this requires a degree of attention and persistence that simply wasn’t available to me in July.  August isn’t looking especially great either, but I am hopeful that as we approach the end of the summer months, it will ease up enough to allow for some time to share with you all.  I have been trying to keep up with the blogs I follow here as well, and have managed to comment periodically on several of the amazing blogs on my list.  I could easily spend a lot more time doing so, but it just hasn’t been possible lately.

In consideration of the struggles I have been experiencing recently, I thought I would post this poem which speaks to both the promise and the uncertainty that sometimes manifest in our lives.  Thanks to all my readers for their support and patience.

sunset road home

Tomorrow’s Promise
By JJHIII24

On the horizon, where darkness meets light,
My soul floats away into endless night.

The sharp edge of day, it frequently seems,
Releases the power found in our dreams.

Wonder that deepens to love would I seek,
A glimpse of eternal life, just a peek.

For there we may see our life’s meaning unbound,
Emerging as something grand that we’ve found.

Time passes in moments, some rushing by,
We don’t often stop to ask ourselves why.

Hope I uncover and try to hold fast,
Against the lonely despair from the past.

On the rim of despair is where we fail.
On the brink of our joy is where we sail.

Standing together, our hearts side by side,
Helps us to feel what our love wants to hide.

Contained in reflections, words, thoughts, and deeds,
Are every last one of life’s hopeful seeds.

In mystery wonder, in science truths,
Cruel hearts diminish, an open mind soothes.

With yesterday’s joys our hearts we can lift,
Tomorrow’s promise, an uncertain gift.

© August 2015 by JJHIII24

2 comments

  1. Shannon Lyons

    Your words echo in me like a bell, I listen for their wisdom and the echoes of their deep sense of caring and connection. I’m hoping you will be doing more of sharing them.

    • jjhiii24

      Shannon,

      There is a deep sense of caring and connection at the heart of my words, and I am delighted that they resonated with you so well. I will be sharing more of them as I am able, and I hope that the echoes of my words will continue to reverberate in a way that is pleasing to you.

      Warm regards….John H.

Leave a Reply

